Kim’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spouting Off

I was talking with some colleagues the other day in the staff room at lunch about this great class I’m taking!  We started talking about classrooms of the future and I mentioned that I could see that possibly in the future, classrooms may become obsolete and the number of teachers needed to teach kids would be drastically reduced.  I have since reconsidered these ideas especially with the grade I teach.  For many people, school is not simply a place to send children for an education – cynical as it sounds, it’s also free babysitting.  I think there would be an uprising from parents if schools were closed down and education was delivered via computer.  This also contradicts my Master’s project where I have been looking at the effects of conversation on literacy and learning especially in the younger years.  How would these conversations take place for children with undeveloped reading and writing skills?

3 Comments»

  stephen king wrote @

I agree Kim. I don’t see schools closing, but I sure hope we see them evolve to include the technology in use in the 21st century.

Interesting how the classes translate into staffroom and hallway discussions. I am experiencing similar things.

  Melva Herman wrote @

When one looks at the history of public schooling, the babysitter factor is an important one, especially with the growth of industrialization and urbanization. The second factor being preparation for the workplace. Even Maria Montessori, whose work I’m basing my project on, started out providing a service for the children of poor workers in the slums of Italy, although her goal was to go beyond basic care and to educate the children. We need to keep it all in perspective. Technology has a lot to offer, but it can’t surpass human contact. We all need that, and the technological versions, (email, chats, video conferencing etc.) are not the same as true face to face, especially when teaching the very young, but all ages need true human contact – hugs, handshakes, high fives etc.The phone companies may say reach out and touch someone, but humans need actual physical touch too.

  kimcottini wrote @

Well said Melva! Your words are exactly what I was thinking. Thank you for your comment.


Leave a Reply

